Sarah's Key/author questions

Publié le par Blogsarah

---What first got you interested in writing? I first started writing novels when I was 11 years old, in 1972. I was already a book worm and several books had inspired me : Anne Frank’s diary, “Rebecca” by Daphne du Maurier and the “Young Visters (sic)” by 9 year old Daisy Ashford. For my mother’s upcoming birthday, I decided to write her a novel and she was most encouraging when she read “A girl called Carey”, the 80 page, hand-written story of a poor little rich girl in 19th Century London. So from then on, I wrote a book a year for my family. I was already then firmly convinced I was going to be a writer. But I did not seek publication till 1992.

--Who or what particularly influences your work?  In my teens, I was influenced by Zola, Maupassant, Baudelaire,  Woolf, James, Wilde, Poe and Wharton (although I knew I could never equal them !)  Nowadays, I read many contemporary writers such as Ian McEwan and Tracy Chevalier, but I try not to be influenced and to let my own voice “speak”!

---Describe your writing process.
I take notes when I am preparing a novel and while I am writing it. I write early in the morning and late at night. My first readers are my husband Nicolas and my close friends Laure and Julia, who have more or less read everything I’ve written, even the unpublished stuff ! It takes me a year or two to write a novel.

 ---What is the most surprising thing you have learned as a writer?That you can really reach out and touch people, in every sense of the word. And that they want to thank you for it. A wonderful discovery !

 ---Which of your books is your favorite and why? What a tough question ! I’m attached to all my nine novels and to my unpublished ones ! But I’d say Sarah’s Key is the  book which has lit up something in my life, something that I’ll never forget.

 ---What kind of effect do you hope your books will have? I love it when my readers tell me “they couldn’t put my book down” and had to stay up all night to read it ! I also love it when my readers recommend my books to their friends and family.

Thank you to Contemporay Authors at http://gale.cengage.com/

Publié dans Publication USA

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article
D
Blogs are so informative where we get lots of information on any topic. Nice job keep it up!!________________dissertation
Répondre
M
Bonjour, je m'appelle margaux, j'ai 17 ans, et je viens de découvrir votre livre. je l'ai acheté il y a deux jours, et malgré le fait que je passe le bac dans une semaine, j'ai passé toute l'après-midi à lire. Je connaissais la rafle du vélodrome d'hiver, on nous en a parlé au lycée, mais comme un évenement comme un autre.. Je voulais vous remercier de m'avoir fait découvrir ce pan de notre passé et de m'avoir plongée dans l'histoire de cette petite fille de 10 ans. je vous avoue m'être sentie très mal quand la fillette enferme son frère à clef dans le placard...c'est tellement atroce...en tout cas merci pour ce livre...
Répondre
T
<br /> Merci Margaux.<br /> TR<br /> <br /> <br />